NewLogoNC addedC

Monday, March 20, 2023

Greetings from Sunny FL! My name is Pocholo and I am only 8 years old. If after reading my autobiography, you are interested in knowing more details about me, please complete an adoption application on the SLR web site and enter ‘Pocholo’ as the sweet boy you would like to provide a forever home to.

Who says animals can’t talk! My foster mom used to watch a tv show called, Mr. Ed. It was about a talking horse. I may not speak verbally like Mr. Ed, but I do let my foster mom know with my actions what I like and do not like. When people meet me they say, ‘que pacholo’ – meaning, ‘how cute!’ Not to brag, but yes I am.

Pocholo3When I first arrived at my foster mom’s house, I slept and hid in a crate. I let her know that I was very scared with this new environment. She feels I must have been kept mostly in a crate. Once she coaxed me out of the crate (with a treat), she gave me a soft doggie bed to lie in whenever I wanted. Needless-to-say, the crate was folded up and put away.

When it came time for me to go and get my vet checkup, I had to ride in a car. I shook the entire way to our destination and the entire way back to my foster home. I only remember riding in a car one other time and that was when I was turned in to SLR. My foster mom has a female Miniature Schnauzer - we get along very well. My foster mom says that she can tell I am not an Alpha (whatever that means).

My foster mom has little humans that visit her almost every day. At first I was very skittish of them. I told my foster mom this as I would shake and turn away from them. I like the one little human who is 10 yrs. old the best, as she is very quiet and approaches me very sweetly (and gives treats). I’m not a fan of the younger humans that visit. I am known as an escape artist. I would run like the wind if I had the chance (I have tried). I let foster mom know that I would need a fenced yard to keep me safe while I adjust to my forever home.

Pocholo6In summary, here is what I have told my foster mom –

* I need a soft bed to sleep in

* I do not care for car rides

                                                  * I get along with other nice dogs

                                                  * I like children who are at least 10 years old

                                                  * I must have a fenced yard to run in

I am muscular at 20 lbs. I have natural ears and a docked tail. I am house trained and had my remaining teeth pulled during a dental (no wonder I don’t like riding in a car). My gums have hardened and I can eat my food and treats just fine. I am a healthy boy. If you see me walking down the street, just say, ‘que pocholo’ and I will stop to greet you!